It’s Alive!

  • DAILY PROMPT

    Brevity Pulls

    “I would have written a shorter letter, but I did not have the time.” — Blaise Pascal
    Where do you fall on the brevity/verbosity spectrum?

    When Stephen King was a little kid his grandfather said to his mother, “Why don’t you shut that kid up, Ruth. When Steven opens his mouth, all his guts fall out.

    On Writing: A Memoir of the Craft

    Stephen King

    When I was a kid my family used to stand there and watch me talk with the same look on their faces that they would have had, had our family dog walked up to them and asked what the time was.

    One of my cousins was more blunt. When I was about seven he was listening to go on about the possibility of the lady next door being a  a Mad Scientist like Dr Phibes  (mostly because she sort of looked like Vincent Price ) and he said,

    ” There should be some kind of law about what you use words for.”

    At the time I didn’t get it, but I was smart enough to know that doing anything against the law was bad so for what felt like days but what was more like seconds I watched what I said.

    Personally I love to hear people talk. Use as many words as you want.I think it’s great. I mean, if you want to open your mouth and your guts fall out I will listen and watch and hang on to every word.

    Verbal Vomit holds  no fear for me.

    To tell the truth,  I have been known to not just paint a picture with words,I have been known to take a spray can and tag an entire city block, just because it was the best way to get my story or point across.

    Most of the time, it was just to see how people reacted.

    I used to work in a funeral home and to do embalming.

    To this day at Thanksgiving I can’t reach into the turkey and put stuffing into it. My heart races, I break out in a sweat and I feel like I’m going to faint.

    And it goes without saying that I will not be eating turkey that day.

    I can stretch that story out to last so long I should have commercial breaks.

    So, I will tell that story and use as many words ( and big ones ) as possible if it’s right for the moment, other times I don’t go into great detail but I”ll tell the story differently.

    All you’ll get then  is, ” I don’t stuff  Turkeys. I used to. But I got traumatized at work and now I can’t stand to stick my hand into cold dead things.

    Conversations, storytelling, letter writing, they take on a life of their own. I say let them go where they want. It makes for better listening and reading.

    Make it an Epic conversation, make it a little one.

    Because.

    It’s…alive

2 thoughts on “It’s Alive!

Leave a Reply

