Knock Knock

wpid-88d7c80b352cdcf66ee8ae85945cb8d0.jpg

 

Today I dug up a grave.

I  turned the key, pulled the locks and opened the lid.

The body in the coffin was as it had been for a long time… it was still very much a corpse.

Corrupted and decayed it was a shell.

Looking at it in the bright March sunlight, it was hard to believe it had ever been anything beside a rotted husk.

Had it ever been alive? I wondered as I lowered myself down into the ground.

The eyes weren’t empty as I expected they would be.

They were full of death.

Then I crawled out of the grave, away from the  shell of what used to be and I when I was far away from the opened grave I ran because I still could.

And I laughed with relief as I ran with death’s scent trailing after me.

 

Leave a Reply

